Activate by Confirmation sent to your E-mail !

Awards Current Affairs Quiz - October 2016

Home > Current Affairs > Awards Current Affairs Quiz - October 2016

  1. Quiz Can Be Started by Using the Start Quiz Button in Bottom of Quiz.
  2. If you're in a Hurry and want to know answers without attempting Quiz, Use the Done..Show My Score button Directly and answers will be shown.
  3. For every Correct answer, 1 Mark will be awarded.
  4. For every wrong answer, .25 Marks will be deducted.
  5. All The Best!!

1. Nobel Prizes 2016 -

  1. Medicine‚ - Yoshinori Ohsumi (Japan) for his work on autophagy. He becomes 23rd Japanese to win a Nobel prize.
  2. Physics‚ - Britain's David Thouless, F Duncan M Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz selected for their researches on‚ theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter.
  3. Chemistry‚ - Jean-Pierre Sauvage (French), J Fraser Stoddart (Scotland) and Bernard L Feringa (Netherlands) selected for their efforts in developing molecular machines.
  4. Peace‚ - ____________ President Juan Manuel Santos.
  5. Economics‚ - Oliver Hart (UK), Bengt R. Holmstr¶m (Finland)
  6. Literature‚ - Bob Dylan (USA). ?
None of These

2. 3 Indian students - Aditya Pal, Amarjeet Pandde and Guhan Narayanan won 4 silver medals at 10th International Earth Science Olympiad in __________ ?

None of These

3. Actress _________ honored with 2016 ET Panache Trendsetter Award in Mumbai, along with several other Entrepreneurs and Social Workers. The award recognizes the efforts of entrepreneurs, innovators and athletes who inspire millions ?

Priyanka Chopra
Deepika Padukone
Aishwarya Rai
Sonam Kapoor
None of These

4. All India Radio‚„s (AIR‚„s) entry ______________ won prize in Community Service Announcement category of Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU) awards 2016 ?

Diary of a Butterfly
Diary of a Lion
Diary of a Leopard
Diary of a Wimpy Kid
Diary of a Tiger

5. Almatti Dam on Krishna River at Bagalkot district in ____________ has been chosen for World Bank’s Award of Excellence for best utilization of funds (Rs. 72 crore) for renovation to increase strength of the dam ?

North Kerala
North Telangana
North Karnataka
North Andhra Pradesh
None of These

6. British statistician __________won inaugural International Prize in Statistics by International Prize in Statistics Foundation. He got this honour in recognition of Survival Analysis Model Applied in Medicine, Science, and Engineering ?

David Cox
Colin Cherry
Paul Dirac
Henry Foster
None of These

7. _____________ selected for Mathrubhumi Literary Award 2016 ?

Tapan Ray
C Radhakrishnan
Parameswaran Iyer
Ashok Kumar Gupta
None of These

8. Comedian ____________ honoured with Mark Twain Prize for American Humour ?

Bill Murray
Jerry Seinfeld
Bill Cosby
Louis C K
None of These

9. Film Society of Lincoln Center announced __________ as recipient of 44th Chaplin Award ?

Robert De Niro
Leonardo DiCaprio
Johnny Depp
Brad Pitt
None of These

10. Former Director-General of CSIR, ___________ conferred with V Krishnamurthy Award for excellence by Hyderabad-based Centre for‚ Organisation Development ?

Amar Sinha
Anjuly Chib Duggal
Sibabrata Tripathi
R. A. Mashelkar
None of These

11. Former ISRO Chairman and space scientist ___________ became first Indian to be inducted in Hall of Fame of International Astronautical Federation (IAF) ?

A. S. Kiran Kumar
Shailesh Nayak
K. Radhakrishnan
Udupi Ramachandra Rao
None of These

12. Former Minister Veeranna has been selected for Sri Maharshi Valimiki Jayanti Award for 2016-17, given by ________ government ?

Madhya Pradesh
None of These

13. Former ______________ chief minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank has been conferred with award by Ugandan Prime Minister Ruhakana Rugunda for promoting human values through his literature ?

Uttar Pradesh

14. G. Balakrishna from India has been crowned as Mr. Asia 2016 at the recently held 5th Phil-Asia bodybuilding championships in ___________ ?

None of These

15. History writer ___________ won 2016 John F. Richards Prize for her book‚ Ashoka in Ancient India ?

Jhumpa Lahiri
Salman Rushdie
Chetan Bhagat
Nayanjot Lahiri
None of These

16. Indian Film-maker and elephant researcher Prajna Chowta (46) has been appointed Chevalier de l’Ordre National du M©rite (Knight in the National Order of Merit) by _________ government ?

None of These

17. Indian National Award winning documentary ‘Daughters of Mother India’ won first prize in Documentary Film category at 6th CAM International Film Festival in Cairo (_________) ?

None of These

18. Indian scientist ______________ conferred with prestigious IAFP Young scientist scholarship award for his research on‚ development of novel oxygen absorbing package in the field of active packaging for oxygen sensitive food products ?

Soumya Swaminathan
Kirtiraj Kundlik Gaikwad
Girish Shankar
Kailash Satyarthi
None of These

19. Indian sprinter _________ won 24th Ekalabya Award 2016 as a recognition of her sporting excellence. This award is instituted by Odisha-based Indian Metals Public Charitable Trust (IMPaCT). ?

Dutee Chand
OP Jaisha
Lalita Babar
Srabani Nanda
None of These

20. Paul Beatty became first _____________ author to win Man Booker Prize, after he won 2016 Man Booker Title for his racial satirical novel‚ The Sellout. His novel tells the story of a young black man who tries to reinstate slavery and racial segregation in a suburb of Los Angeles ?

None of These


21. ________ footballer Renato Sanches won 2016 European Golden Boy award ?

None of These

22. Randeep Guleria and ___________ have been selected for Dr Bidhan Chandra Roy Award for excellence in medicine ?

Susheel Kumar
C S Yadav
Hasmukh Adhia
Anoop Kumar Srivastava
None of These

23. Sangeet Natak Akademi awards 2015 have been presented - _________ has been named Sangeet Natak Akademi Fellow (Akademi Ratna). Akademi also selected 43 artists for Sangeet Natak Akademi Awards (Akademi Puraskar) for 2015 ?

Ajay Narayan Jha
Javed Akhtar
Ila Arun
C V Chandrasekhar
None of These

24. ________ has been awarded for ‚ËœExcellence in Technical Innovation‚„ by the International Society of Automation (ISA) for his innovation Digital Controlled Valve for Precise Liquid Dispensing by Gravity flow ?

Anil Swarup
Ashok Kumar Gupta
Vrinda Sarup
Ajit M. Sharan
Satish Pathak

25. ____________ Chief Minister Pawan Chamling has been honoured with Sustainable Development Leadership Award of The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI), during‚ World Sustainable Development Summit‚ in New Delhi. Theme for summit is‚ Beyond 2015: People, Planet and Progress ?

None of These

26. Two Yazidi women - Nadia Murad Basee and Lamiya Aji Bashar have been selected for European Union‚„s prestigious ___________ for Human Rights for 2016. They were among thousands of Yazidi girls and women who were abducted by Islamic State (IS) militants in Iraq and forced into sexual slavery in 2014 ?

Sakharov Prize
Humanity Award
Nobel Prize
Peace Prize
None of These

27. Uttar Pradesh government declared Yash Bharati awardees 2016 - _______________ People selected for coveted UP award for 2016-17, for contribution in literature, fine arts, folk and classical music and sports. Some prominent names are - Actor Naseeruddin Shah. PayTM CEO Vijay Shekhar, Paralympic athlete Varun Kumar, Qawwali singers Aftab and Hashim (Sabri Brothers), Director Saurabh Shukla ?

None of These

Score =

Correct answers:

More Quizzes For Category -
More Quizzes For Month -

Month Type