Indian audit and accounts Service, List of Civil Services

Home > Sarkari Naukri > > Indian audit and accounts Service, List of Civil Services Recruitment 2014

Indian Audit and Accounts Service is a central government service under the Controller and Auditor General of India(who may be an IA&AS officer or IAS officer of sufficient experience and seniority). The officers of this service are responsible for auditing the accounts of the Union and State governments and public sector organizations, and thus IA&AS acts a government's financial watchdog. It works somewhat similar to US GAO and UK's National Audit Office.

The service has Principal Accountants General and Accountants General for every State. Generally, each state has one Principal Accountant General in charge of audit functions. Bigger states may have an Accountant General (Audit) in addition to the Principal Accountant General.

Selection and training

Recruitment to the IA&AS is through the Civil service examination organised by UPSC

Click HERE for selection procedure of Civil service examination.

On final recruitment to IA&AS, the officers are trained at National Academy of Audit and Accounts, Shimla.

The officers of IA&AS have to have not only the professional skills of an accountant and auditor but also the administrative competence to manage the staff of over 60,000 personnel of the Indian Audit & Accounts Department. The job requirements includes scrutiny of intricate contracts, understanding of tax and revenue laws, assessing the financial health of commercial corporations.

IA&AS officers mainly go abroad to conduct the audit of Embassies and High Commissions of India situated all over the world.

Back To Top

Sanctioned strength and payscales

Sanctioned strength of IA&AS Cadre (As on 01.08.2009):

  • Deputy Controller and Auditor General: 5
  • Additional Deputy Comptroller and Auditor General: 5
  • Principal Accountant General: 26
  • Senior Administrative Grade: 107
  • Senior Time Scale: 256
  • Junior Time Scale: 136

Service hierarchy

Pay scale
field Designation
Headquarters designation

Jr. time scale

Asstt. accountant general
Assistant Director
Sr. time scale
Deputy accountant general
Deputy director
Jr. administrative grade
Senior Deputy accountant general
NFSG of jr. administrative grade
Senior deputy accountant general
Senior administrative grade
Accountant general
Pr. Director
Principal accountant general
Dr. general
Additional Deputy CAG
26000 (fix)
Deputy CAG

Back To Top

Other Civil Services:

All India Services

Central Civil Services - Group "A"

Central Civil Services - Group "B"

  • Railway Board Secretariat Service (Section Officer's Grade)
  • Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (Section Officer's Grade)
  • Customs Appraisers' Service
  • Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service and Police Service
  • Pondicherry Civil Service

Back To Top

Subscribe Email AlertsEnter your E-mail Address below for Free Government Jobs E-mail Alerts right Into your Inbox:

**Remember to Activate the Subscription by Confirmation Link sent to your E-mail!!